Skip to content

The German-Australian Agreement On The Exemption Of Visa Requirements

There is no automatic right to a Schengen visa. Twelve nations have bilateral agreements with Australia. One of them can be useful to many travellers: the bilateral agreement between Australia and Germany on visa exemption. This scheme allows Australians with a passport to apply for a stay in Germany for 3 months, regardless of the time they have already spent in the Schengen area. Each country has a variety of types of visas, each with its own particular purpose and requirements. The rules for visits to ordinary passport holders are as follows: Austria allows Australian nationals to enter the country without a visa and apply for a temporary residence permit or a “red, white and red card” (issued to permanent immigrants) on arrival, instead of having it in advance through an Austrian embassy/consulate. [399] [400] By the end of 2022, the ETIAS visa exemption for Europe will be introduced. To cross an external border of the Schengen area, third-country nationals applying for a visa must apply for ETIAS. The ability to download and complete visa application forms online, and then take the completed and printed interview form in the Visa area, where they can be scanned electronically via a barcode, has much to do to reduce the time it takes to process the application at the visa counter. In addition, many German missions have set up an electronic appointment system to manage the number of mission visitors and thus reduce waiting times. New Zealand has bilateral agreements with 18 countries associated with Schengen and Schengen.

The actual period during which you can stay in a country under visa waiver agreements is different. In most cases, it is 90 days, but there are exceptions. In Belgium, for example, it is 60 days. Greece, Spain, France, Hungary, Portugal and Sweden only accept ordinary passports, while in all other cases, bilateral visa waiver agreements in Canada are available to passport holders. In addition, citizens of Australia, Canada, Israel, Japan, New Zealand, the Republic of Korea and the United States of America may obtain a residence permit that may be required after entering Germany. Citizens of all other countries planning to stay longer in Germany must apply for a visa at the relevant mission before arriving in the country. Such visa applications must be approved by the relevant foreign office in Germany, i.e. the Foreigners` Office at the place where the applicant intends to reside there. If authorization from the Foreigners` Office is required before a visa is issued, the procedure may take up to three months or more in some cases, as the Foreigners` Office often consults with other authorities (for example. B the Federal Employment Agency).

Missions may only issue visas after obtaining authorization from the Foreigners` Office. To apply for a visa, you must make an appointment online. Please note that the Australian authorities are asking you for proof that you are allowed to leave Australia and that you are allowed to return to Germany after your trip if you have applied for the visa. With the exception of Belgium (2 months), all bilateral agreements between New Zealand and the EU allow for stays of up to 90 days and, in most cases, all passports are accepted. There have been previous interventions on this scheme, but I wanted to change in favour of Aussies who do not know it. There does not seem to be any publicity for the agreement that allows it, even though my daughter learned from the Australian Embassy in London that she had been in existence since 1953. Bilateral visa-free agreements allow some non-EU passport holders to stay in the Schengen area without a visa beyond the 90-day limit. But what is a bilateral agreement and how can travellers benefit from an extension of the visa exemption in Europe? The Nordic countries see themselves as a single bloc within the meaning of the visa-free agreement.